15. February 2024

Meet the New Judges of DNRF’s 2024 Photo Competition

The DNRF's 2024 photo competition, opening on February 20 welcomes three distinguished judges to its panel.

We are happy to welcome Ken Arnold, Andreas Roepstorff, and Charlotte Schwartz. They succeed Christine Buhl Andersen, Louise Wolthers, and Minik Rosing, who have served the DNRF Photo Competition since 2018.

The three recently appointed judges will be in position as the competition draws to a close on May 17, and we look forward to the upcoming collaboration.

Explore their profiles:

Ken Arnold. Quote:“These days, we are overwhelmed with images. But some really stand out – they inform, excite, surprise and move us. I’m looking forward to working with the other judges to find the photos that tell us most about today’s research through the eyes and camera of the researchers behind it."

Ken Arnold is director of Medical Museion and a professor in the Department of Public Health at the University of Copenhagen (also part of CBMR). This world-class university museum combines innovative public exhibitions and events with adventurous and collaborative research in the medical humanities. Until June 2022, he was head of Cultural Partnerships at Wellcome, the London-based charitable foundation focused on health research. Earlier, he helped establish the Wellcome Collection and directed its first decade of programming. He regularly writes and speaks on museums – today and in the past – and on the interactions between the arts, the humanities, and the sciences.

Charlotte Præstegaard Schwartz. Photo: Mathias Ivasson.Quote: "I have accepted the Danish National Research Foundation's invitation to be a judge in their photography competition with the expectation of experiencing photographs that are both aesthetically powerful and carry stories about groundbreaking research in Denmark."

Charlotte Præstegaard Schwartz is a photo curator and research librarian at the Royal Danish Library, where she is responsible for the National Photo Collection. She holds mag.art. and Ph.D. degrees in art history with a focus on the art of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Præstegaard Schwartz specializes in photography and photography history. Her latest book  is Image Modes: Three Historically Grounded Stories about Photography in Contemporary Art.

Andreas Roepstorff. Photo: Lars Kruse AU Kommunikation.

Andreas Roepstorff is director of the Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (AIAS) and has been a professor in the Department of Anthropology at Aarhus University since 2010.
Trained in biology and social anthropology, Roepstorff’s research is collaborative and transdisciplinary, engaging with the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and health. He was the co-founding director of the Interacting Minds Centre at Aarhus University. For decades, he has been a strong driving force for cross-disciplinary studies and collaboration. He holds several positions of trust as vice president of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, chairing the Section for Humanities and Social Sciences, and a member of the Council for Technology and Society at the Danish Academy for Technical Sciences (ATV).

Read more and submit to the DNRF’s 2024 Photo Competition

Sign up for our newsletter