Niels Bohr (Photo: Niels Bohr Archive)

Niels Bohr Professorships

The professorships were launched in 2013 and ran until March 2022.


The Niels Bohr program had the distinct purpose of enriching Danish research communities with top-class researchers from abroad. This includes excellent international researchers, but the program was also an opportunity for outstanding Danish researchers who had chosen an academic career abroad to return to Denmark.

A total of 440 million DKK was reserved for the professorships. The Niels Bohr professors spent from 50 to 100 percent of their time in Danish research environments.

  • Professor Morten Bennedsen
    Institution: INSEAD Business School
    Danish institution: Department of Economics, University of Copenhagen
    Funding period: January 1, 2017 – June 30, 2022 (67%)


    Professor Matthew Collins
    Institution: University of Cambridge
    Danish institution: Natural History Museum of Denmark, University of Copenhagen
    Funding period: 1 October, 2016 – April 30, 2022 (60%)


    Professor John McGrath
    Institution: University of Queensland
    Danish institution: School of Business and Social Sciences, Aarhus University
    Funding period: November 1, 2016 – February 28, 2022 (50%)


    Professor Rita Felski
    Institution: University of Virginia, Charlottesville
    Danish institution: Department for the Study of Culture, University of Southern Denmark
    Funding period: September 1, 2016 – November 30, 2021 (50%)


    Professor Thomas Pohl
    Institution: Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems
    Danish institution: Department of Physics and Astronomy, Aarhus University
    Funding period: February 1, 2017 – November 13, 2021 (100%)


    Professor Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz
    Institution: UC Santa Cruz
    Danish institution: The Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
    Funding period: February 2017 – January 2021 (50%)


    Professor Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing
    Institution: University of California, Santa Cruz
    Danish institution: Department of Culture and Society, Aarhus University
    Funding period: September 2013 – August 2018 (50 %)


    Professor David Needham
    Institution: Duke University
    Danish institution: Department of Physics, Chemistry and Pharmacy, Univ. of Southern Denmark
    Funding period: January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2017 (full time)


    Professor Lars Hesselholt
    Institution: Nagoya University
    Danish institution: Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Copenhagen
    Funding period: April 1, 2013 – March 31, 2018 (The first two years 50%, full time thereafter)


    Professor Charles Lesher
    Institution: University of California, Davis
    Danish institution: Department of Geoscience, Aarhus University
    Funding period: April 1, 2013 – March 31, 2018 (full time)


    Professor Jaan Valsiner
    Institution: Clark University
    Danish institution: Department of Communication and Psychology, Aalborg University
    Funding period: March 1, 2013 – February 28, 2018 (full time)


    Professor Subir Sarkar
    Institution: University of Oxford
    Danish institution: Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen University
    Funding period: September 1, 2013 – August 31, 2018 (50%)

Sign up for our newsletter