Niels Bohr foran en tavle. Foto: Niels Bohr Archive

The Niels Bohr Visiting Professorships

Supplementing the Centers of Excellence program, the Niels Bohr Visiting Professorships were initiated in 2005 with the purpose of promoting the internationalization and the competitiveness of Danish research by attracting international top researchers to existing research environments in Denmark.

The initiative was established for the period of 2006-2011. Most of the six Niels Bohr Visiting Professors stay in Denmark approx. six months each year.

Total support amounts to 100 MDKK distributed between six grants on the order of 10.8-21 M DKK each. The initiative has been established for the period 2006-2011.

  • Professor David E. Arnot
    Institution: University of Edinburgh
    Danish institution: University of Copenhagen
    Funding period: October 2006 – August 2011


    Professor Dale T. Mortensen
    Institution: Northwestern University
    Danish institution: Aarhus University
    Funding period: August 2006 – December 2010


    Professor Nicolai Reshetikhin
    Institution: University of California, Berkeley
    Danish institution: Aarhus University
    Funding period: August 2006 – July 2011


    Professor Christopher Frith
    Institution: University College London
    Danish institution: Aarhus University
    Funding period: January 2007 – August 2011


    Professor Catherine Martin, Under embedment
    Institution: John Innes Centre
    Danish institution: University of Copenhagen


    Professor Hassan Aref
    Institution: Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, USA
    Danish institution: Technical University of Denmark
    Funding period: July 2006 – August 2011

Sign up for our newsletter